Instagram – October 2015

little minx on Instagram - October 2015

little minx on Instagram - October 2015

I was reading this wonderful post from Wonder Forest the other day about re-imagining your Instagram profile, and it had me looking at my own photos with fresh eyes. To be honest, I’ve never really thought too deeply about the overall look of my feed, I just see something, like it, shoot it, maybe mess with some editing, and post. Every now and then I look at my pictures and generally deduce that I am pleased with the overall look and feel, but honestly have never thought to myself what do I want this to be/look like/emanate. I found it really interesting to actually decide what I was trying to express, and aim to stick with a theme. The more I thought about it the more I realised that a lot of the Instagrammers I follow do just that, their feeds have a commonality that I enjoy, a curated slice of someone elses life. So I thought I would give this idea a try, starting with that all encompassing question what do I want it to be? 

little minx on Instagram

This picture pretty much summed it up – I like images to be pale, calming, and based around nature and the ordinary around us. I want to escape into the soft for a moment, and so this is what I have done for the past couple of weeks. It’s been an interesting trial, but I don’t think I’ll be sticking to a themed idea for a few reasons. Firstly it made me look for things to photograph that would fit into this format, rather than letting them organically come. I don’t usually post more than one image a day anyway, but when I do it’s usually because something has caught my attention and made me stop in my tracks. Secondly, I don’t have the kind of life that has a naturally themed flow to it (understanding that other people are curating this perceived flow of course) – I love that some people just theme travel, or food, or their paintings, but my life is a hodge-podge of stuff that I couldn’t pin down to much more of a hashtag than #justliving (in fact I might just start doing that, I’m quite liking that). Lastly, I just simply don’t like being cornered to one idea.

little minx on Instagram

So some great results, but all in all I think I’m best left to roam free. This experiment has definitely made me re-asses my attitude towards Instagram and how I use it, and I think my focus has a little more direction with a few new do’s and don’ts on my mind. Though never fear, there will always be photo’s of run-down old doors.

If you are on Instagram you can follow my feed here if you wish x

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Instagram, Life in New Zealand, lifestyle, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Instagram – October 2015

  1. Love the pic of the door! Great colours

  2. Tosca Zraikat says:

    You are in each of these photographs. Only you sees the world in your unique, creative way. I do love that sky very much though.

Leave a Reply

