just for a week

Warrington Beach

Warrington Beach - jumping over the inlet

 

Yesterday we had the most glorious weather – the sun came out and it was like a taster of all those gorgeous sunny days to come. Spring is around the corner and I, like many others it would seem from what I am reading on Southern Hemisphere blogs, am feeling the drag of winter and the need for change. Yesterday I took the kids to Warrington Beach. We spent what felt like half the day there running, leaping, playing, exploring rockpools, and throwing sticks for Max into the water. After 2 & 1/2 hours I felt almost like I had been on holiday. Even the moment I turned the car onto the motorway and started heading North there was a little leap of excitement in my heart at the thought of being away from it all. Needless to say, I feel a rather weighted need for a bit of time away from all the usual lists and tasks, which at the moment seem to feel a little heavy. 

Being that it is not possible to take a holiday or proper break at the moment I have decided to give myself a break from some of the “noise” in my life – starting with ignoring the lists, and removing myself from the buzz and hum of social media. I am closing down my Facebook page, removing the apps from my phone, ignoring bloglovin’, Instagram and Pinterest, and quite simply taking a week off to just be. I am not trying to be dramatic about social media, if you know me at all you know that I completely love all of these platforms. I just think sometimes it is a good idea to not be checking your phone every 10 minutes to see what the world is up to, and instead look around and experience what the world is really currently doing right where you are.Sitting down last week I asked myself what I would really want to do with my time if I didn’t have things I am commited to acheiving, and the answers flowed quick and fast – it seems there are a lot of things in my life I think I’ll do that in a minute, I’ll just finish this… and that minute never seems to come. 

  • Read
  • Watch
  • Family/Friends
  • Walk
  • Wander

These things seem simple to achieve, but they don’t get prioritised because there is always washing to fold, or things to check, or gifts to make, and I get that this is just life, and please don’t think I am complaining, I just desperately need some respite from it all. So I will be away for a week – and I look forward to being back here again in a weeks time refreshed and renewed.

Thank you all for visiting and listening to my musings.

Joanna x

 

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Life in New Zealand, little minx blog, living in Otago and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to just for a week

  1. Prioritising is never an easy task, I hope that you can work it out. xx

  2. Diane says:

    well good for you .. enjoy your social media holiday .

  3. Jill says:

    I hope you enjoyed your time off!

Leave a Reply

