Crafty Freaks #2

Crafty Freaks 2 - in progress

Crafty Freaks 2 - detail

Well I have found this weeks Crafty Freaks challenge an absolute joy – I have rediscovered my joy of sewing, my mind is buzzing with all the things I could make myself, and I have a new dress! Couldn’t ask for more really. I started out with the idea of making one of the many dresses I admire from my vintage pattern collection, something I still aim to do, but saw a picture of a women the other day wearing a floppy and casual gathered dress made from a knit, and decided I wanted something similar. I used Simplicity 3692 with a deep olive green Japanese Knit. I have used this pattern once, years ago, and it was an abject failure. The main reason for this is that I chose to completely ignore the suggestions on the pattern that mentioned it was designed for stretch fabrics and, deciding I knew better, made it in a light, stiff cotton. It was awful, there were tears.

This time round, however, it becomes clear why it is designed for stretch fabrics, because it sits just beautifully. After I finished making it I think I sent pictures of it to about 6 friends and family – making me realise it’s been a long time since I was so excited about something I had made that I simply had to show anyone who may be interested. Being that the Crafty Freaks challenge is all about doing something you want to do just because you want to, I think the outcome so far for me has been very much a success story.

Crafty Freaks 2 - wearing me new dress today - Simplicity 3692

 

See – I like it enough to show you me wearing it! Now the challenges for me in making this were to conquer my fear of sewing stretch fabrics and to hit on the head my reluctance to use my overlocker for more than just the occasional pretty edging. Both of these fears have been fully assuaged, though unfortunately now the overlocker fear is done and dusted I seem to have broken it somehow.. off to see the fix-it man because I want to make this (and lots more) again!

What went right – well, I am no longer afraid of stretchy fabrics, and I love the dress.

What went wrong – I haven’t quite mastered the hemming of stretchy fabrics, so the bottom hem and the sleeves have a slightly rolled look which I’ll need to figure out before next time. I also added about 2 cm to the width of the dress wanting it to be really floppy, but I should have just trusted the pattern as when I put it on it didn’t look floppy, it just looked far too large so I ended up removing the extra.

Crafty Freaks 2 - finished dress - Simplicity 3692

Want to join in the challenge? Please do! We have quite a few joiners, and there is some great stuff being made already. Not everyone is choosing to do something every second week, so if the 26 projects is putting you off then just do what you feel able to – it’s all about freeing your creative time up to do what you want to do, and it’s a lovely warm and supportive bunch of clever people. Details on how to join are here.

Check out what the other Crafty Freaks are up to on our Pinterest Board.

Happy making everyone,

Joanna x

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in #52weeksforcraftyfreaks, Handmade Life, Life in New Zealand, little minx blog, New Zealand Designer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

