Hey Crafty Freaks!

Crafty freaks - my pile of delicious crafty inspiration

Crafty freaks - my first Crafty Freak project is plotted and planned

I’m bored. I’m bored of what I’m making, I’m bored of my same old piles of fabric, I’m bored of my to-do lists, I need a good old fashioned kick in the butt! Boredom in itself leads to lack of creativity, apathy, and an odd blank stare. I’ve hardly made anything over the past 18 months, life has been in a constant pattern of change from my hospitalisation with a ruptured appendix last year through to Simon’s recent knee surgery. Things have not been very “normal” BUT there is a light at the end of the tunnel – my working hours are settling into more of a pattern that will allow me more day time to make, and as I see this develop I also see the possibilities this brings. I have been listening to a lot of podcasts of late, and one of my absolute favourites is this series from Elise Blaha Cripe – it deals with being a creative small business, inspiration, and how to be you in this busy world. One thing that I noticed on Elise’s Blog was that she constantly set herself challenges – see 40 Loaves or Project Life – which is something I have tried on numerous occasions with varying results. It takes stickability to complete a project – I thought to myself – maybe I just don’t have any. Then I had a lightbulb moment – Elise was talking creativity styles with another crafter and she mentioned that her style of creativity is to start things, and that after that she often gets bored. Ding ding ding in my head – it had never occurred to me that it was ok to define myself as a starter. I get bogged down with my to-do lists, and my ideas and designs get buried under the constant list of things I feel I need to complete first. What I like is to do new things, what I don’t do enough of is new things.

This ding-ding moment lead to the next ding-ding moment which literally poured itself forth once I had released myself from the guilt of being a starter and embraced this ‘flaw’ – how about a challenge that is completely and utterly about starting things? And that’s the idea – for the next year I am going to complete 26 new projects, one every two weeks, and each and every one is going to be something new and different, and something I want to make just because I want to make it! No lists, no pressure, no reason other than because that’s what I feel like making. And I can tell you that the moment I had this realisation and this idea I had such a huge sense of excitement, energy, and enthusiasm – oh the possibilities! 26 new things, challenging my ideas of what I feel comfortable working with, trialling new things without worrying about other things I ‘should be’ doing, and getting some of those many ideas actioned.

And this is where you come in… want to join in? The more the merrier! How about a challenge that is really only about stretching your creative nouse, giving you some leg room, and letting you pull some of those projects off Pinterest? Sounds kinda tempting huh? You don’t need to have a blog, you just need to want to be involved. See that new Tab up there on the right of my blog – the one labelled Crafty Freaks – well that’s there to showcase all our fabulous new projects. Every second week I will blog my latest creation, along with links and pictures (as applicable) to all your wonderful projects. And that’s not all – I have created a special Pinterest Board just to share all our wonderful pieces with the world.  Come on, get in there!

Challenge yourself – make something YOU WANT TO MAKE – 26 brand new projects this year, every second week, just because YOU want to. Unleash that Crafty Freak! #52weeksforcraftyfreaks

 

Head on over to the Crafty Freaks page for the Rules and Guidelines – or if you have any queries please feel free to email me direct at littleminxshop@yahoo.com

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in #52weeksforcraftyfreaks, little minx blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hey Crafty Freaks!

  1. Maureen says:

    Reading this makes me stop & think WHY? Why do I get up every morning & make a To Do list? Haha I never get it completed & have all these goals that never get started. As soon as someone is sick or life throws a curve ball your way, motivation stops & everything you want to achieve stands still. I am going to try the crafty freaks! Thanks maybe this is just what a lot of ladies need x

    • little minx says:

      awesome! That’s great news – thanks for joining! I always tussle with myself because I am so pulled towards that new idea, and always tell myself “later” and then that idea gets shelved… great to have you on board x

  2. I’ll have to get my thinking cap on!

Leave a Reply

