a funny thing happened

little minx reading package from Mighty Ape

reading, coffee & cake at The Kitchen Table - bliss

A strange thing happened the other day – I finished my book and looked over at my bedside table and it was empty. Ok, that may not seem that odd to most of you, but for me there is usually a rather ridiculously large and very ambitious pile of books next to my bed. The other day… well, none. I didn’t sleep well that night, not because bedside table was empty, but because I was rather excited by the trip to the library to choose the next piece of reading material. What shall I read next?

Armed with Goodreads and a rather organised list of books, I paid for 30 minutes parking and thought right, here we go. Thirty minutes later I looked like Emma Thompson’s version of Professor Trelawney from Harry Potter as I yanked at my hair and proclaimed I cannot find any of the books on my list! They simply were not there to be borrowed. So I did what any self respecting modern woman would do – I went home and hit the internet. Two books ordered Tuesday night, arrived Thursday morning in a lovely brown package at half the cost of popping into a shop (I’m sorry bricks-and-mortar, but I have never really liked actual shops)… and today, down to the favourite café The Kitchen Table for a coffee, slice of Carrot Cake, and my new (and rather fab so far) book. That was possibly twelve steps to bliss!

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life, Life in New Zealand, little minx blog, New Zealand Designer, this week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a funny thing happened

  1. David and Marion Kitchingman says:

    Glad you’re onto ‘The Fault in our Stars’. I read it last year and have seen the movie. Brilliant writing. Love Marion

  2. Diane Christine Laing says:

    very cool Joanna , enjoy the books .

Leave a Reply

