something new (from something old)

Needle Book made from a Vintage Doily & husky gray linen

Pin Cushion & Needle Book set

Pin Cushion - Mothers Day gift for Mum

A gift – re-using something old to create something new. This is what I made Mum for Mother’s Day, a Needle Book and Pin Cushion set for her to use when she is working away at her stitching. Made from a partially destroyed vintage hand-embroidered doily, some sweet pink and red floral cotton, a dusky gray linen, hot pink gingham, and a little red ribbon. I love making these, sometimes I forget how much – at the moment it’s hard to squeeze some creating time in at all so these small moments are something I really appreciate.

I am truly feeling the need for a shake up in my life – creative or otherwise. I found an interesting writing and reading blog earlier on today that has a weekly writing challenge which has attracted my attention. I love the idea of weekly challenges, don’t you? My largest problem is that it instantly evokes a sudden panic of what if I fail to do it weekly, which then tends to lead to my not attempting that something new at all. Silly really. Well, I’m putting it out there so I have to do something about it now. The challenge is to write a short story once a week, with a new writing prompt every Monday morning, to be completed and published by Friday afternoon. Now that’s another aspect of scary isn’t it – if I was happy enough with what I have written I would need to publish it here on the little minx blog! Hmmm… well, souls bared and all, I should at least give it a try shouldn’t I. What do you think?

You can read more about the blog Tipsy Lit and the reading and writing challenges here – maybe you’d like to join in too!

Joanna x

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life, little minx blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to something new (from something old)

  1. GRANNY SMITH - says:

    I love my Mothers Days gift , thank you very much talented lady .I love you too .

Leave a Reply

