how’s my driving?

Last week I started a photography course at the Otago Polytechnic – obviously I already take  lot of photo’s, have a fairly nice camera, and am a very snap-happy kind of chick BUT I have always had that feeling that I am cheating, that I don’t know enough about what I am doing or have enough control. Add to that the fact that the camera is simply a tool, I would have to admit that it is one I do not know particularly well. So I made the decision to take a beginner course on digital photography, and it’s one of the best decisions I have ever made! After the first lesson I came away with my camera on Manual and a full understanding of what it is I need to control to make light work for me. Can I just say a small yeehaw here? Yes, I think I can. I came away from just two hours buzzing and excited, you couldn’t ask for more really.

Tonight’s lesson was focused on the Rule of Thirds, composition, how light affects a subject, and differing perspectives. We spent the entire 2 hours outside, being given assignments after detailed explanations of what it is we are trying to achieve. If you ever wanted a poster-perfect course for reasons to take a night class this is the one. So here are a few moments from tonight, merging in what was taught last week. I really can’t believe I didn’t know how to do any of this before – and you can imagine how excited I am about the ‘what next’!

Rule of Thirds 1

Rule of Thirds 2

challenging your perspective 1

challenging your perspective 2

challenging your perspective 3

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life, little minx blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to how’s my driving?

  1. Heleen Webb says:

    How inspiring! Your photos are proof that it was worth going; I particularly like the sweet pea 🙂

Leave a Reply

