in bloom

The end of 2012 something odd happened with the weather. The end of 2012 I waited and waited patiently for the field next to the road to turn blue and the sign to appear, but it didn’t happen. Maybe it was too dry, too warm, the winter not cold enough – whatever the reason, the meadow of Hydrangeas did not raise it’s beautiful head.  The end of last year was a whole different story, thank goodness. I drove past with a leap of excitement when I saw the colour change, and eventually the sign was attached to the gate – please feel free to pick a few blooms. I arrived, secateurs in one hand and camera in the other, to a very vocal duck sitting on the steps of the owners house. He quacked and quacked and quacked at me, so much so he had me believing he was a type of guard-duck, and a fine job he was doing too. Then the owner came out to greet me and shush the bird, not with the expected wave and smile, but with a rousing chorus of O Sole Mio. This moment never fails to be special.

in bloom 1

in bloom 2

in bloom 3

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life, little minx blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to in bloom

  1. Diane says:

    Beautiful . Have you little jars awaiting shoots to appear lining up along your window sill . Why can’t I buy cards with such beautiful photography .

  2. Marine says:

    This is what I love about living in New Zealand! I might have to go for a drive this week to have a look at this 🙂

Leave a Reply

