a little bit botanical

I’m not very attentive to the garden at the back of our home, I tend to breeze past every now and then and stop and marvel at something I haven’t noticed in the past year, but that’s admittedly about it for me. Often I have grand dreams of being a gardener, I think to myself how wonderful it would be to look forward to extended daylight hours that will allow me to work tirelessly in the soil, slaving into the late evening hours, but honest truth is the day ends and those late hours are often more likely spent on the couch watching a little telly or catching up on the computer. The stuff dreams are made of for sure. One thing I did get right abut the back garden was planting a lot of easy care natives. They sit, they grow very slowly, they don’t require much in the way of water or attention, and every now and then I look out to find that they have done their darndest to catch my attention.

Pictured: my favourite plant in the entire garden, a Flax rescued from being thrown away by the neighbour, in full gorgeous bloom, and one of the two Kanuka’s given to Simon our first Christmas living here, with it’s first ever showing of flowers. The Flax has been attracting attention from all corners, from Wax Eyes to the local Tui, it is such a joyful sight

And that’s me, getting just a little bit botanical x

Tui in the Flax

Kanuka in bloom

Flax profile - nearly two stories tall

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life, little minx blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a little bit botanical

  1. GRANNY SMITH - says:

    The photos are beautiful , and it looks a lovely place for the birds to visit , much to your joy I can see . Thanks for sharing them .

Leave a Reply

