Frocktober

You may have noticed on the right hand side of my blog, or if you follow me on Instagram, that last month I decided to challenge myself to Frocktober. Frocktober is a real thing – started in Australia by a group of women in Geelong, Victoria, to raise funds and awareness for Ovarian Cancer. This is not the reason I decided to do Frocktober, I decided to do it to get myself out of jeans and baggy tops. It was an interesting month, filled with some really lovely moments, more time spent thinking about outfits than I probably do in a 6 month period, and the largest amount of interactions with complete strangers than I think I have ever experienced before. It could also be a real challenge, especially when I felt like putting something sack-like on, only to discover that I had made a pledge to put some effort into my attire. All in all, it was good for my soul I feel. Dressing up does make you feel good, I know people say it, but it really actually is true. Those days when I felt the need for sackcloth, putting on a dress made me look at myself, feel better, lift my shoulders and smile. I thought that was just a myth! And no, I don’t own 31 dresses, there were double-ups and at least one triple-up!

Things I have learnt from a-dress-a-day

  • Woman appreciate a woman dressed up! I had comments daily from complete strangers on my dresses – from shop attendants to the young woman I paid for my petrol. It was quite amazing, it happened on some days a couple of times a day – what a lovely way to make contact in the world.
  • Accessories rock. Nuff said.
  • You can never underestimate the power of a petticoat! Oh the difference it makes! I now own about 5.
  • A dress is extremely quick and easy dressing – dress, belt, stockings (or not), accessories, shoes… voila!
  • I wear a lot more red than I realised.
  • A dress must be the reason for the phrase “dressing up” – it makes you feel 100% better in 2.5 seconds. Put on a dress, survey in the mirror, find that you don’t really mind what you’re seeing.
  • 31 days of dress wearing has taught me how to pose in a dress! (but hopefully not look like a poser)

Some of my favourites from the past month;

Vintage 1960s with gunmetal gray kitten heels

Vintage 1960s with gunmetal gray kitten heels

Green & black houndstooth with red belt and black jacket - one I actually bought for the month

Green & black houndstooth with red belt, black jacket and Mary Jane heels

A favourite red number, Frocktober helped me rethink how to wear this one

A favourite red number, Frocktober helped me rethink how to wear this one

Gorgeous Vintage 1960s red with white spots - gifted to me by my Aunt. She had it made for her for dinner dressing when she lived in Singapore. With a black leather belt and black rose brooch.

Gorgeous Vintage 1970s red with white spots – gifted to me by my Aunt. She had it made for her for dinner dressing when she lived in Singapore. With a black leather belt and black rose brooch.

Cute floral georgette with coral cardigan and black stockings.

Cute floral georgette with coral cardigan and black stockings.

Vintage 1980s cream lace number with a gold belt and black ballet flats. (this seemed to be everyone's favourite)

Vintage 1980s cream lace number with a gold belt and black ballet flats. (this seemed to be everyone’s favourite)

I think this is the most amazing dress I ahve ever found in an Op Shop - 1950s Vintage black with sparkle effect and black rose. Or as I call it, the Joan Dress x

I think this is the most amazing dress I have ever found in an Op Shop – 1950s Vintage black with sparkle effect and black rose. Or as I call it, the Joan Dress x

Thank you to those who followed, said nice things to me, and commented on Instagram and Facebook. You all have helped to make my month a very special one.

J. xx

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frocktober

  1. Oh lovely. I hardly wear dresses at all (or skirts). Perhaps I should try!

  2. read instagram online
    I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your
    blog. It looks like some of the written text in your posts are running
    off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know
    if this is happening to them as well? This might be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this
    happen before. Thanks

    • little minx says:

      I have checked the blog on numerous computers and the text stays contained in the centre of the screen. I would say it is an issue with settings on your browser – or you are maybe zoomed in too much? Thank you for visiting my blog x

Leave a Reply

