I read..

What did you do today? I read. Well, I arranged the morning, dropped the kids off at their respective schools, went to a meeting, had a coffee, walked a little and took some photo’s, brushed the dog, went to the library and came home with a stupidly large pile of books, started a short story, made a snack and a pot of tea, and then I read. I’ve decided that one day I would like a reading chair. There is a scene in The Jane Austen Book Club where one of the characters hunkers down in a large overstuffed chair, blanket around her shoulders, cup of tea by her side, and book in hand, and starts to read. It is such an inviting image.

Today I started the day not feeling so great. Being in time was stressing me out, the kids always seem to fight at that one moment where I finally take a minute to get myself ready for the day which stresses me out, and I woke up feeling not properly rested. I had some time after the morning school run and before the meeting so I drove to a hillside suburb, got out of the car, and sat in the sun overlooking the city and read my book for a while. And that fixed it. Sunshine, beautiful view, fresh air, falling into a book, a moment to myself. I really don’t create enough time for reading. I sometimes watch Reuben loll on the couch, book in hand, foot errantly and rhythmically pushing the stool as he gets lost into a book, completely unaware of the world around him, and I get jealous! I wonder why I don’t seem to be able to do that, to make time for that. I always have some kind of mental list of things I need to do, and I think “then I will sit down and read” and before I know it the time has been filled with things that most likely could have waited, and it’s time for the next round of “must do’s” to begin.

What did I do today? I read. I wrote a little. I sat in my own thoughts. I have drunk a lot of tea. The world didn’t stop turning, and I feel so much better for a day spent this way.

i read

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I read..

  1. Oh how lovely. I need to make time for a read too. i know I could but I just don’t prioritise it!

Leave a Reply

