try the 50’s

I finished up the new cushions for the couch yesterday, zips and all, and am rather pleased with the new colour scheme and the way they look. I don’t know whether I have simply watched too many French films of late (is there such a thing?), or whether my hankering for colour has finally taken me into deep and dramatic tones, but the end result is rather eye-cathing. This has been a rather hard couch to dress, it’s a sort of soft minty green, which has left me mulling over colour choices since we bought it in February. Once I had decided – it’s TEAL and MUSTARD – it was then, of course, incredibly hard to actually find a fabric with the intensity of shade I was after. I mentioned my problem to Simon, his reply was “try the 50’s”, and he was right. I got home and on top of my piles of vintage fabrics were the very two pieces I had been searching for.  This works I think, and the more I look around the room the more I spot this scheme poking it’s nose out of corners. Funny how sometimes you don’t see the forest for the trees.

try the 50s 1

try the 50s 2

try the 50s 3

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

