on a scale of 1 to 10

I have been noticeably missing from all things electronic in the past two weeks due to a sudden, unplanned visit to the hospital. After spending Sunday two weeks ago in bed feeling rotten, I awoke 7.30 Monday morning to excruciating abdominal pain. I couldn’t walk, couldn’t sit, was seeing stars, could barely speak, I have to say I have never experienced pain like it. I now know what “10” feels like on the pain scale. Into the car, fast-tracked through ED, several viles of morphine later and I was finally able to speak. A day of tests, Xrays, admittance into a Ward, Ultrasounds, and finally a CT Scan which answered the question – an extremely nasty Ruptured Appendix (diagnosis Acute Rupture Appendix), or as Mia put it “it blew up”. Surgery that night to remove what was left of the Appendix and drain the pockets of fluid it had blasted across my abdomen, followed by a long 8 day stay in hospital due to a nasty internal infection and soaring temperatures as my body fought the toxins still left in my body. I am now couch bound for the next few weeks, but slowly getting better. I would like to say an enormous thank you for the incredible support and love I have had from family and friends – I have received messages, cards, flowers, fruit, chocolate, and lots and lots of love. I am truly truly humbled, and extremely grateful – thank you xx

Hospital - anti blood-clot stockings

Hospital - sheets in the morning

Hospital - just some of the beautiful flowers & lovely cards

Hospital - as much sunlight as I could see over 9 days

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to on a scale of 1 to 10

  1. Storyweaver says:

    All those thoughts were only received because you’re so lovely and we’re so grateful you came through!

Leave a Reply

