Year Three

Three years ago Simon and I said I Will at Long Beach, in front of our beloved family and friends. The gift for the third year of marriage is traditionally leather. I found myself really struggling with ideas for this, I don’t normally work with leather. After weeks of thought, and a little looking through the internet for ideas and inspiration, I had a light bulb moment yesterday morning. I decided to make a photo gift to be hung on the wall, using leather from an old book cover as the backing. So here is a wee tutorial on my gift to Simon – I was really pleased with the end result, and I think there could be a lot of variations on how this idea is used.

1. I used – an old leather book cover, leather needles, yellow cotton, yellow ribbon, a hammer and chisel, and a photo from our wedding.

2. Using Adobe Photoshop, I removed the colour from the photo, and then added the “diffuse glow” from the Filter settings to soften it and create a grainy quality. I also trimmed the corners so they were slighted rounded to mirror the rounded corners of the book cover.

3. Place the book cover on a hard surface, work out where you want the ribbon and, using the hammer to lightly tap the chisel, cut two slots into the cover to thread the ribbon through.

4. Work out how much ribbon you would like to hang the picture, then cut the appropriate amount and thread the two ends through the slots in the book cover. You could glue these down, though I didn’t as the ribbon will be sewn down with the photo.

5. Place the photo over the front of the book cover and center it. Machine sew a line around the photo through all layers – the cotton I used was a lovely bright yellow to match the yellow ribbon I have chosen. I used the machine to sew three lines around the photo, to represent our three years together.

6. Wrap the gift with love. I used Vintage Sheet Music and wool and cotton threads to mirror the yellow on the gift.

7. Give it to your loved one, and remember those three years that have passed by in a blink while life is being lived.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Year Three

  1. Megan says:

    lovely gift idea Joanna, congratulations on 3 years of wedded bliss!

  2. Wow, good work!!! Looks great Jo (and congrats on three years of happiness)! x

  3. Rosie Oh says:

    What a beautiful treasure, and such a pretty photo too congrats!

  4. Marion says:

    Thanks for the reminder! Congratulations to a special couple. Love from M & D

  5. Jo says:

    What a special gift! Best I start thinking about our 3 years! Where has that time gone? xx

  6. what a great idea! the photo you picked seems perfect. what a romantic looking couple. happy 3 years! and many many more x

  7. Jill says:

    Hi Joanna! I hope all is well with you. Just catching up a bit on your blog. Your gift is lovely! I find it hard to craft for my husband. This is a great idea.

Leave a Reply

