Table Settings

One thing I seem to often pick up at Op Shops is old Table Cloths. They are so beautifully printed with such cheering designs, ready to brighten your table and make any occasion just that little bit dressy, I just love them. They are often marked with stains that won’t move, are faded from vigourous washing, have candle wax that you can’t get out, and the occaional hole. This is largely what I like about them, these are items designed for everyday beauty that really show they have been loved and appreciated.  Admittedly they don’t always make it to the fabric pile, and rather end up in our linen cupboard instead, but today I cut up a few for my shop that I am rather enamoured with. Imagine the history these fabrics have behind them x

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Table Settings

  1. Diane Laing says:

    I love them as well I love your description of them. I am sure the table clothes are saying : thank you : for loving them a bit longer and sending them to : bag heaven :

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Marine says:

    wow i love the red fabric!

  3. Rose says:

    Have you tried ironing out the candle wax? I find it can work quite well. Just put a thick paper towel on each side of the fabric – to protect your ironing board and iron. Then iron the area, and as the paper towel soaks up the wax, move it around until it stops soaking it up. If there is any residue left, a really hot wash in soapy water might get the remainder out.

Leave a Reply

