Foggy Starts

It has been raining almost non-stop for the past week or so, it got so heavy on Tuesday we had just short of 70mm of rain fall, it was a torrent. It’s impossible to get any washing done, new leaks around the home are discovered, and everything is wet wet wet. We have been promised a respite with the next few days being merely cloudy, and possibly even sunny. This morning we awoke to a huge and heavy fog over the harbour, so deep we can’t even see the water. It was really quite dreamy looking. It instantly stuck a favourite song by Billie Holiday on loop in my head – A Foggy Day (In London Town). “How long I wondered, could this thing last?”

Yesterday I was visiting a blog or two, and one of my current favourite places to pop by, love wintersweet, mentioned her love for Billie Holliday and I have had the singer stuck in my mind ever since. We have a favourite CD here – Songs for Distingue Lovers – that we love so much we bought an extra for fear it would become scratched and unplayable. I have been listening to this CD now for 16 years, and my love of it has not dulled. Her ability to take you somewhere away from all around you is astonishing. I don’t have much time to visit blogs anymore like I used to, so find I tend to pick ones that take me somewhere, that have a dream like quality. A few favourites at the moment are Bibliographicalove wintersweet, Rachael Brown Photography, Sweet Williamso tread softly (Agnes Coy), and as always, tiny happy

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Foggy Starts

  1. GRANNY SMITH - says:

    A Foggy Day .. how cool with the music and amazing scenes . You have got me going now with the sing implanted in my head , and I’m not complaining , its a wonderful song . Thanks for that .

  2. love wintersweet - Jody says:

    you are so wonderful Joanna.. its wonderful people like you that encourage others.. like me 🙂 you have became a true blog friend !!

  3. you are so wonderful Joanna… its wonderful people like you that encourage others…. like me… you have became a true blog friend!!

Leave a Reply

