Definitely ReLoved

If you have ever donated something to an OpShop and wondered if it was pointless, or whether someone would actually want that the fact of the matter is that yes, someone will want that, and someone will be blooming grateful for that wee bit of history you decided was no longer wanted in your home. You know the phrase, one mans trash is another mans treasure – true.

With the holidays on, today has been the first day I have been able to get into my favourite Dunedin OpShop, ReStore, and oh what a time I had! I came away with Vintage books, balls for the kids, a Moonhopper, some Vintage 1950’s curtains, vintage Enid Blyton storybooks, loads of fabric, and some Vintage black and white photo’s. This part I find a little sad – there was an entire box of someone’s collected photo’s starting from 1910, and running through to the late 1980’s. Why did no one want these? I really couldn’t ignore these. I’m not quite sure what I will do with them, but for a startĀ I will share them with you x

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Definitely ReLoved

  1. Jo says:

    Would love to visit ReStore. Our 2nd hand stores are picked over so regularly that its hard to find real treasures. Aren’t those photos something! You can’t help but look at them and wonder about those people. What about that lady walking along with the boy? No other kids in the background, look of determination on her face, and who took the photo? Where were they going? Reminds me of the book ‘Empty Cradles’ by Margaret Humphries, the book which was made into the movie, Sunshine and Oranges – well worth watching. Thanks for sharing.

  2. GRANNY SMITH - says:

    I couldn’t stop looking at the photos , and though photos generally show only the good times , and they were left in a box for you too find and share . The family look so ‘ normal ‘ and happy and it also brought back memories of photos I have seen of my parents younger years , gloves ,wooden fences , tricycles and bonnets . There is something really lovely in those photos , thanks for sharing .

Leave a Reply

