The Fabric Sale

Every year the Presbyterian Support Service of Otago holds a Fabric Sale – they collect items including buttons, patterns, wool, and, of course, fabric across the year and then hold an enormous 4 hour sale. It is complete chaos – and I don’t mean the organising, it’s extremely well organised, I mean the buyers. I think I spent the first ten minutes trying to squeeze my way around the tables and tables of fabrics that were completly surrounded by wild eyed bargain hunters, scratching their way through like fabric was the only way to keep them alive. It was kind of crazy – I’m not the biggest fan of crowds at the best of times, so found it hard not to just leave. However, there seemed to be a few other shoppers like me, that looked at you and smiled with the “isn’t this just insane” look, and who probably thought, like me, there’s plenty enough for s all. It was worth it, without a doubt, I came away with some really beautiful pieces, and am feeling inspired about what these lovely prints will become. I think I also discoverd the other reason that the sale is yearly, once a year is quite enough thanks!

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Fabric Sale

  1. Emma says:

    Ooooh, love those two fabrics in the third photo (blue and red). Can’t wait to see what you make, I’m sure whatever it is they’ll be lovely.

  2. Barbara says:

    One day I’d like to make a patchwork quilt and I think if you don’t mind, I’d like you to come fabric shopping with me. You have such a wonderful eye for fabrics. xx

  3. Claire says:

    Haha! Yes, it’s definitely “sharpened elbows at the ready”! I gave it a miss this year and had a stall at the Vintage Clothing and Textiles Fair down the road. Much more civilised and I made money instead of spending it! Are those velvets or fine cords in the 3rd photo down? Love them!

  4. Pingback: I Want My Tooth | little minx

Leave a Reply

