To Mum

When I was 6 my Mother and I hopped on a plane to a vast adventure in England, and then Germany. My memories of this time are vivid, though very much seen through a childs eyes. Mum and Janma took us to so many special places, leaving me with a truly romantic feel of 1970’s Europe and the UK. One memory that lasts almost more than any other was gifted to me, by coincidental accident, by Mum in Germany. My first copy of Winnie-the Pooh, which she read to me on our travels, bringing about a lifelong love of A.A.Milne and the characters he created. I recently read the books to Reuben, something that had us giggling like little children nightly, and left him re-reading the book to himself once I had finished it, and I smile at how the memory now travels on. I still have my original copy, and the inscription inside reads “Brought in Germany 76. Only English book we could find in Bonn”. Thanks for so many amazing memories Mum – Happy Mothers Day xx

P.S After finding an old newspaper article in my copy of Winnie-the-Pooh which featured pictures of the real Winnie and some of his friends, I spent a bit of time on the internet. They are located at the New York Public Library – this picture made my heart leap x

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Mum

  1. becky says:

    lovely – just read chapter 1 to Sam…. second time through. Had just eplained how important it is to read WTP at 5, 10 and as an adult 🙂 So many different ways to read it. xxx

    • I agree – and when they get to the Teen Years it’s time for The Tao Of Pooh! I felt a little bad reading it to Reuben at 11, but he enjoyed it so much my guilt didn’t last. Thanks for the comment Becky x

  2. GRANNY SMITH - says:

    You are a beautiful and talented lady and I am so proud to be your Mum .We used to joke about how your nose was always in a book . I love you very much .

Leave a Reply

