Patchwork

All of the scraps of fabric I have I keep and bag to give to school, in the hope that they may be useful for some kind of crafty project. Invariably, the moment I give these bags of scraps to another child for their school there is a call from ours for fabric, so at times I even have a couple of bags going at any one time. It’s a bit of a pain storing them in a small workspace, but I just can’t bring myself to throw them out. I was just thrilled when Mia’s teacher decided to do artwork based on Elmer the Patchwork Elephant, made from fabric scraps. We arrived in the classroom to a wall full of beautifully decorated patchwork Elmers, all featuring pieces I had donated.

Yesterday we had three of Reuben and Mia’s cousins here for the day, so I decided to do a craft project loosely based on this idea, and after getting one of our guests to assist me in cutting bowls full of colour scraps from fashion magazines, we all made patchwork puppets with hinged arms and legs. The boys couldn’t help but add guns to theirs.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Patchwork

  1. Megan says:

    love the elephants- they are just gorgeous. I have done colouring in Elmer but using fabric is sooo much better- will have to remember this for when I do some teaching again. the puppets are awesome too!

  2. Jo says:

    Love those elephants! Good on you for making the puppets, a nice way to spend some holiday time. Have you seen http://www.the craftycrow.net – you can get a daily email sent to you full of lots of simple crafty ideas for a wide range of kids. Just great! Have been busy with Lucy making a few things, just need to get blogging again to share! Thanks for the quilting tips too by the way – just what I needed!!

  3. GRANNY SMITH - says:

    SO CUTE .. they elephants are lovely with their vibrant colours .

Leave a Reply

