New Beginnings

Last night we had a special dinner to celebrate New Beginnings, or in some cases the Approaching Ends that will bring New Beginnings. It is very important that all of these things are in Capitals, as they are most definitely Titles. Simon is entering his final year at University, Reuben has his last year of Primary School, Mia has her first proper year in Primary School, and I have been given the opportunity to quit my day job to work on little minx as my Full-Time Job – all really rather exciting! The kids are off to school today, leaving me standing at the door of my workspace with my hands on my hips and lots of bags ready for the clean out that now needs to happen if I am to find my room under two months worth of “I’ve just put it in the Study”.

These school holidays have seemed long, or rather I can’t really remember what the end of last year looked or felt like. The weather has been very kind to us, and the last week has been spent with almost daily visits to Long Beach, where we have spent hours swimming, boogie-boarding, reading, and building sand castles. Ah, our little piece of heaven. I hope the holidays were good to you, and wonderful memories were created. Now, back to work!

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Beginnings

  1. super crazy massively excited for you xox

  2. Megan says:

    ooh exciting to be able to work on Little Minx full time-looking forward to seeing all the products you will come up with. Must be very peaceful in your house today with 2 kids at school, have fun with the clean up/sort out. If I’m in the mood sorting out my craft nook (which gets out of control after aboiut a week of being sorted every time) is one of my favourite things to do!

  3. Rose says:

    Wow that’s awesome news! It’s great working for yourself, doing what you love and being your own boss. I hope it is super successful for you, and you love every minute of it.

    • Joanna says:

      Thanks so much Rose – you know you have been part of the inspiration for this (now you know why I was questioning you at the market about your Business Plan) I’m already loving it, the whole thing feels so much “easier” than it does when you are juggling all the other things and feeeling overwhelmed. Thanks for the comment x

  4. Jill says:

    How exciting! This is wonderful news! I ‘m so happy for you!

  5. Fabulous! You’ll never go back to working for anyone else again. I love being my own boss and I know you will too. CONGRATULATIONS! Not many people get to do what they truly love doing so its not really a job in my book.

    • Joanna says:

      Thank you so much – I’m loving it already! I am, and continue to be, really inspired by artists such as yourself Julia, and how well you live a life with your creations in the forefront. I heard a quote a couple of weeks ago “if you do what you love doing you will never work another day in your life” – I think this is so true xx

Leave a Reply

