Books and Crowns

As I steadily try to work my way through my rather hopeful list of handmade Christmas gifts, I thought I would show you a couple of the things I have made in the last week. Firstly, Flower Faerie Crowns I made as part of an order from a family member, I will admit to having fit one extra in to place under the tree for Mia. These crowns are simply three Felts in pink cut into four-petal floral shapes, with lime green leaves on the edges. These were then embroidered onto a Felt crown in brown or black, which was then sewn together with a backing, and to include the elastic. Fairly simple, but a lovely outcome.

Secondly, some books I made for Reuben and Mia. We have always made it known that Santa brings the “big” gift, and strive to make the gift from us something small. So, as we are heading back to As You Like It to spend an entire weeks holiday from Boxing Day on, I thought it would be nice for them to have a diary to record their daily experiences there. I based this loosely on an idea from tiny happy, and changed the wall paper to fabric as well as glueing some printed paper into the inside cover, and using some ribbon kindly given to me by my friend Jill for the spine. And yes, all sewn on using the sewing machine, including the pages. You can see the original idea from tiny happy here. How are your Christmas gift plans coming along? Only 3 days to go!

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Books and Crowns

  1. Marine says:

    So pretty! Have a lovely relaxing holiday!

  2. Louise says:

    Very sweet! What exquisite creations. Wonderful work! Have a fantastic Christmas! 🙂 xx

  3. Jill says:

    The crowns are so pretty and the journals turned out great! I’ve been playing around with creating journals from composition notebooks for my daughter’s class. I’ve still got 10 more to make by next week. YiKes!

Leave a Reply

