Old Roses

Late last week I found a beautiful vintage curtain in the op-shop, printed with a lovely Old Roses design in pinks and greens. Today I was cutting into it, working towards an order for a new stockist, when I decided to put my rather large to do list aside and make something for myself and for Mia, who was eying up the fabric with wonder. As things have continued to be crazy busy I find myself barely keeping up with the things I need to get done, and never really moving onto trying and making some new ideas from my sketch book, a few ideas of which just seem to itch at me. The bag I made today is a simple front-pocketed Tote, using the vintage fabric and with a large open pocket at the front. I think I will add snaps to the pocket to keep it tidier and stop it flopping forward though. The pocket layers over a stone colured wool mix, and the rose fabric is repeated on the back, and again on the interior pocket. The lining is a simple chocolate brown, and the straps are the same wool mix as the front.

Then I made Mia a new cushion using the rose fabric, and adding another vintage curtain in stone from my fabric piles, and a beautiful vintage rose sheet that she just adores. Since Mia has started school she is desperate to be able to read, and can often be found on her bed going through the story books she has learnt by heart, reciting the words. So, a cushion for her to lean on.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Old Roses

  1. megan says:

    what beautiful rose fabric- I bet Mia loves her cushion, perfect for some practice reading 🙂

  2. Rachael says:

    Gorgeous! I am about to make a whole bunch of cushions for our living room – this has inspired me! I know what you mean about having time to create and make some of your passion about you as well – I hear ya!

  3. mum says:

    Beautiful. Pink is my new colour . Its so soft and relaxing or energising depending on the depth . Lovely design and once again amazing workmanship . Lucky Mia for having such a talented mummy .

  4. Jill says:

    i’m glad you took time to create for yourself and Mia. It’s hard when you work and get busy with the stuff of everyday life. Taking a break to create is always good. i hope things slow down for you soon!

  5. Aren’t Op-shops great? Amazing what you can find sometimes ~ the bag and cushion look lovely!!!!!

Leave a Reply

