A new Needle-Book

I have been chipping away at an order for a new stockist – the ‘part time’ job seems to be fairly draining on my little minx time, but I chug along. The new stockist wil be selling my Needle-Books and Pin Cushions, so I have been working on a new version of the Needle-Book using snap clasps, and the gorgeous Karen Walker dark gray linen I got from Global Fabrics. This one is for me, as my previous attempts at Needle Books are not quite what I am about now. Interestingly, I seem to be surrounded by a lot of yellow at the moment as I am behind the scenes organising some of the details for Simon’s parents, Marion & David’s, 50th wedding anniversary, an occasion for gold. Yellow seems to be a colour I crave at the moment, maybe it’s spring hanging over us. This Needle-Book is a real change from my normal approach in colours, rather intense and broody, but I’m really happy with it.

I have just finished reading Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, a novel which completely transported and fascinated me. The whole subject matter, the travelling train circus of the depression era, was so beautifully, and sometimes brutally, conveyed. A wonderful novel, fabulous writing, it sent me straight back to the library to try and find more of her writing. In fact, having gone into a bookshop to buy it as a gift after finishing it in seven days (I literally couldn’t put it down, this is extremely fast for me) I found that she has just released a new novel, Ape House, which I shall be buying as soon as I am able to. What do you find moves you this spring?

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new Needle-Book

  1. megan says:

    they are beautiful Joanna, and LOVE that grey fabric. thanks for the book tip too, you’re great for recommending books- really enjoyed that french one about the barber in the village (can’t remember the name now) will have to look out for water for elephants next 🙂

  2. Jill says:

    Joanna,
    The needlebook is beautiful! I love the embroidered flowers on the linen and the lining fabric is the perfect accent.
    I bought Water for Elephants 3 months ago but haven’t red it yet. I’ve heard that it is really good.

Leave a Reply

