Blues & Greens

Yesterday was one of those days at the Op Shop where the finds were just that little bit magical. Nine rolls of vintage cottons, all in the most beautiful shades of blues, greens, and grays, my favourite colours. When I got home and put them down they fell into a natural order of colour  not dissimilar to a colour chart. From Sylko and J & P Coats, all made in either Great Britain or Australia, presented on wooden or cardboard spools, and some not even used. Then a cookbook from 1965, Simple German Cookery “compiled by Edna Beilenson, and with decorations by Ruth McCrea”, which has the most stunning illustrations and some really fantastic, and surprisingly modern, recipes. This sort of thing just lifts my heart.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blues & Greens

  1. Jill says:

    I love the illustrations in the cookbook! What great finds at the op shop! I went shopping this weekend and rescued a vintage pincushion that needs a little update. I can’t wait to fix it up. By the way, I’m hosting a pincushion swap if you’re interested in joining.

  2. Angela says:

    Just beautiful! What a find, I’ve been using some of my vintage thread stash lately, love it! ps – I’d love to do a pincushion swap too!
    Ange

  3. Jill says:

    Joanna,
    I’m not sure if you wanted to join the pincushion swap. Please don’t feel obligated to join. If you do want to, here’s the link to the sign up form. http://jillytacy.wufoo.com/forms/crafty-bits-swap-spot-pincushion-swap/
    Hope you’re having a good week. I’m glad it’s almost Friday!

Leave a Reply

