You Are Invited

Something special is coming up – Mia is about to turn five. She is so excited, and I am wondering where the years have gone. Mia has invited everyone she knows and quite a few people she doesn’t know too including some of the parents waiting outside school to pick up their kids, along with their dogs. To celebrate we are having a Fairy Picnic at a park, so had to make some invites that reflected the Fairy theme. When I was growing up my best friends mother used to make the most beautiful party invites with little girls on the front made from fabric scraps, and with hair of plaited wool. I used to adore them, and am a little surprised I don’t have any tucked away with my childhood things. Possibly I loved them to pieces. Borrowing from her idea, I made invites with a fabric-scrap Fairy on the cover. When Mia was asked where Fairys lived, she replied in flowers and on leaves, so I cut a leaf shape from green cardboard and used colouring pencils to add veins. I don’t seem to be able to complete something like this without using the sewing machine, and made the hair with bright thread zig-zagged on. To finish them off, sparkly Fairy shoes of course. Now to give them out to the party guests that are actually invited.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You Are Invited

  1. Sarah says:

    Oh they are too cute for words Joanna! I’m sure all the little fairies will love them.

  2. Jo says:

    They are gorgeous! I’m sure they’ll be at least one little girl who will keep your invite safe and sound for her to look back on just as you have kept things. Lucky little Mia, hope she has one!

  3. GRANNY SMITH says:

    wow they are SO SO cool , lucky MIa , sounds like your havin a great time. Think you’ll be sad when your kiddies grow up …. cause you wont have the same reasons to do these wonderful creations that I think bring out the cute little girl in you . Well done Queen Fairy from the Fairy Grandmother

  4. Rachael says:

    Oh they are Soooooooooooo beautiful! Lucky girl! I hope she has a fab birthday!

  5. Jessica says:

    You’re so clever ! yay for you ! x

  6. Jill says:

    I can’t believe it’s already her birthday again. Wow time flies. The invites are amazing! They’re just wonderful! Mia must love them!

Leave a Reply

