Lemon Slice

Things have been a bit topsy-turvy here in the last week or so with my suddenly, and a little unexpectedly, getting a new job. Whilst I have given my notice at my current job, there has been an overlap while I work both and try and squeeze some little minx in between. Hence the blog quietness. So, since I am now a Baker working in a café I thought I would share my Lemon Slice recipe with you, a particular favourite of mine. I am a self-described “Lazy Baker”, I don’t like things that are too fiddly or have too many complicated steps, and this slice falls well and truly into that category.

Lemon Slice

– 250g pack of Wine or Tea Biscuits, put through the food processor until you have fine crumbs

– 1 Cup Dessicated Coconut

– Zest of 1 Lemon

– 250g Butter

– 1/2 Cup (half a can) of Condensed Milk

* Line a 20 x 30 cm rectangular slice tin with Baking Paper, leaving an overhang on the sides.

* Process biscuits, then transfer to a bowl and add coconut and lemon rind, combine

* put butter in a small saucepan, melt over a low-medium heat, then stir in the condensed mlk.

* Pour the melted mix onto the dry ingredients and mix throughly.

* Press this mix into the prepared pan and refrigerate until it is firm, about an hour or so. Ice with Lemon Icing.

Lemon Icing

2 Cups Icing Sugar, sifted

– 40g Butter, melted

– the juice of one Lemon

* place icing sugar in a bowl, add the melted butter and lemon juice and beat until smooth. You may need to add a touch of hot water to get it to the consistency you want.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lemon Slice

  1. Jessica says:

    I’m making this on the weekend ! I love you x

  2. Marine says:

    Sounds like my sound of slice – easy! In what cafe do you work in Dunedin? I work in a cafe too – ALTO Cafe in Mornington

  3. Marine says:

    I meant ‘my kind of slice’ – will make this on the weekend!

  4. GRANNY SMITH says:

    yum you have us all in OZ making Lemon Slice … I hear your sister has made two in between getting home from work and making dinner .. that has to be good . Thanks for sharing .

  5. Sarah says:

    Oh yum. That looks seriously good and I have lots of lemons in the garden and a picnic to bake for tomorrow. Thank you!!! And good luck with the new job x

  6. Jill says:

    Congratulations on the new job! The lemon slice looks delicious!

  7. That looks and sounds delicious Joanna ~ would definitely like to give this a go!!!

Leave a Reply

