Solstice (a few days after)

Today we celebrated the Winter Solstice at Ross and Barbara’s home in Purakanui.  A lovely lovely day of family, food, and laughter. It is always such a joy to visit there, and the welcome always so warm. Watching lots of kids have the chance to romp together across meadows and up trees is just wonderful too. I found when wandering around with my camera, as I tend to do there, that I was taking a lot of photo’s of flowers, which seems to be a theme for me at the moment. We have so far had a mild-ish winter, with some quite warm spells, so there seem to be more than the usual amount of confused plants and trees that are in bud or starting to flower, and at Purakanui their early-flowering Daffodils are already up.  Happy Winter Solstice x

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Solstice (a few days after)

  1. Alexa says:

    Daffodils already?! I have noticed my bulbs are starting to sprout…but no flowers yet. Impressed!

    Just wanted to pop in and say that I love the last photo.
    Winter looks so nice in this country this year…!

  2. Jill says:

    Happy winter solstice to you! I’m happy to say I’m trying some gardening and so far this summer haven’t killed all of the flowers and vegetables, though your photos of flowers are far more beautiful than the ones I’ve taken.

  3. Love the photos Joanna ~ enchanting indeed! Hope it’s not too cold down there!

Leave a Reply

