Now and Then

Slow achievement has been happening over the last few days, a good feeling. I spent about 45 minutes at my favourite op shop the other day, something I rarely have time for, and it really paid off as I found some amazing things browsing. Among them were two cups with a very distinctive 1960’s print in brown and orange, that had come from Staffordshire Potteres ltd England – I’ve already got 4 mugs of theirs in a blue print, I really love the colours and the small (but not too small) size of the cups. I also found about three aprons made from the remnants of vintage clothing, one piece still has a dart in in it, gorgeous pieces, I felt very lucky. There was also an old shovel, and that signifies the end of  an area of our property I have been working on, and is finally flat, grassy, and has an aspiring hedge.

Please accept my apologies if I had anyone worried with my last post, it was not my intention. To tell a quick story – last Thursday I didn’t really “do” anything. I mean, I am always doing things, but last Thursday I just did whatever came along. I even sat for a while in the seat by the window and read and drank tea (I know, crazy). It was really quite lovely, but I have such a busy life, as most mothers do, that I actually felt guilty spending a day like that, in my head “I have things to do!”. The next day I was offered full-time employment. I currently work two full days, and then the rest of the time is split between my beloved family and keeping a home, and what is left is “my” time, which is really little minx time or creative space. So full-time work would mean the end of little minx and compromised family hours, yet I felt compelled to work out the monetary value and to think about what I ‘should’ be doing, and whether I could be doing more with my time than just driving a household. Hence the mention of dominoes. The short answer is, don’t be so silly, what I do is valuable to who is around me and that makes it important x

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now and Then

  1. Jill says:

    If you can stay home and take care of your family, don’t feel bad about that. It’s a wonderful thing to be able to do and takes and enormous amount of energy to. I loved being home and don’t regret the sacrifices we made for me to be home raising my daughter. circumstances changed and I had to go back to work three years ago. Balancing home life and work is is difficult! I still haven’t mastered it and probably never will! Good luck with your decision. I hope it all works out.

  2. Meg says:

    Gosh I’m feeling a bit like that at the moment too! Except I haven’t actually been officially offered work. They are very keen to give me some though and seem happy to let me work early shifts so I can be there to collect the kids from school each day. After almost seven years without contributing to the mortgage financially, I’m looking forward to that side of things the most… but no doubt there will be some downsides too. To me, being able to be home and do the home maker/mothering thing is so important, more so than anything else. But I’ll only be working two days to start with anyway. I hope that you can make it work whichever way you decide to go. x

Leave a Reply

