A Dress for Mia

Part of my New Years list is to make more clothes. The kids are always keen on having things made for them, so I should really be taking advantage of that while I still have it. Mia’s new dress was made today using New Look pattern 6639, and she came home to find it hanging on her door much to her delight. It’s been a long time since I have used a pattern that is not my own, and it was interesting to see how much I changed and tweaked the original. By the time I had finished I had written four notes on the instructions, something I have never done before, detailing how to do it according to me. It’s a lovely pattern though, simple, and one of those “make it your way” types.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Dress for Mia

  1. Jessica says:

    hope you might be still up for little girl dress making this time next year πŸ˜‰

    btw very cute πŸ˜€

  2. Nik says:

    Cuteness!!! Love the complementary colour/pattern effect! x

  3. Sarah says:

    So cute! And she looks like she loves it. I have that pattern too and made the dress out of fleece for Maddy a few years ago. She hated it so I haven’t used it again! Mind you she is a very fussy little thing. Maybe I should try making it for Eloise this time.

  4. Yes, cuteness indeed!!! Love the front with the main straps coming down and attaching to the dress cuff(s) (if that’s what you call them.)

  5. Jill says:

    I love the fabric! Mia looks very happy with her new dress. it’s funny how after you’ve sewn for awhile you feel the need to tweak all patterns. I have a hard time following a pattern because I tend to think I can do it better.

  6. Joanna says:

    I agree – I’ve just re-made it without looking at the pattern at all πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

