Feeling Lucky

Christmas 2008 I said aloud “I would like to make bags and sell them on the internet”. October 2009 I finally joined Felt and, really, it has all been uphill since then. I would just like to say that I am grateful, completely and utterly, overwhelmingly and totally, for the way things seem to have gone since then and for all involved in helping me along my pottering way. I count myself humble when I look around and see where I am right now. No way in hang could I have done any of this alone, in fact the support I have received from family and friends has been just beyond incredible, I don’t know how to quantify it, but man do I feel lucky. I am close to reaching 100 sales in my Felt shop, I have been accepted into Craft 2.0 at the Dowse in Wellington, I have my first stockist Oyster, I have been asked if I would like to be a Featured Seller on Felt, and my beautiful friend Elwyn spent an overcast morning at the Dunedin Botanical Gardens sporting bags for me so that I could create a little minx look. You’d count yourself lucky too.

Time to share – I am doing a giveaway, a rather serious and yet celebratory giveaway. I would just like to say a huge thank you to the people who are there for me, family and friends, and so am giving away the bag that appears in the new look little minx. I have been thinking a lot about blogs and the nature of them, so to enter I ask you to think a bit about blogs and why they are what they are. Why do you read blogs? If you blog, why? What did we do before blogs? If you blog, do you reveal yourself? I look forward to your answers, and would like to say  (another) thank you, gosh I feel like a lucky gal x

Giveaway entries close on Saturday April 23rd, the same day I will be at my first Craft 2.0.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Feeling Lucky

  1. Jill says:

    Congratulations! What very exciting news. I love the new blog header, it’s lovely. Your bags always look so beautiful so I’m not surprised to see you have so much success!
    As for blogging I do it for a few reasons: 1. I have a record of things we’ve done and made. 2. It’s been a great way to meet other people who are passionate about crafts like I am. I’ve made so many friends. 3. It’s a great way to get inspiration from others. I find reading the blogs of others provides craft inspiration as well as life inspiration. I think there are more reasons that I can’t think of right now and it’s time for me to head off to school. Congratulations again!

  2. Emma says:

    Oh, good luck for your first Craft 2.0! I’m sure you’ll do great! I wish I was going so I could say hello in person… maybe next time? And congrats on getting a stockist and nearly making it to the big 100 sales!
    Hmmm… me and blogging:
    Why do I read them – to continue to keep my brain creatively focused, to get inspiration, to keep up with friends and their news
    Why do I blog – mainly as a record of what I thought was important to share with the world at certain times in my life, and what I’ve been up to, like Brumby I find it a great way of meeting new friends, who generally have a similat outlook on life, and similar interests to me, also as a marketing tool for my business but that’s such a small part of it really.
    What did we do before blogs – I have no idea!!!
    If you blog, do you reveal yourself – I’m quite open on my blog about who I am, and my life outside of Freedom Creative. I just try to think ‘do I want a complete stranger knowing that about me or my family/friends’ before I make anything public.
    Emma x

  3. Meg says:

    Hello! Well done with all your endeavours. I read blogs for entertainment and to learn things. I blog for the family down South to keep them up with the play in our part of the world, and for myself to remember the good times. I used to share more but then did a bit of professional photography and decided to share a little less. Now I’ve stopped that work I’m not really sure where I am.

  4. Marine says:

    Congratulations on your success! I love your bags. I don’t have my own blog yet – I will need some help to start one because I am not too creative on a computer!

    But I do read blogs because I always get up from behind the computer and feel inspired with a desire to create something – sewing, embroidering, baking, opshopping, etc. I am a people person and so love to read about people’s lives – even if I don’t know them personally.

  5. Barb Snook says:

    Congratulations on being selected as the featured seller on Felt. I don’t read other blogs but I do read yours as you have a personal way of writing and I am always interested in seeing what you have been up to.

  6. Good on you Joanna ~ it’s so exciting where you are at (at the mo) ~ and it will just continue to grow (it’s like a snowball effect this blogging thing I reckon!) . . . . I actually think your blog is awesome, the photography, writing style (always puts a smile on my face) and content, I think you’ve got so much going for your blog in that regard. ~ ~ ~ Blogs are interesting in that there are so many possibilities in where we can take them and I think that is the beauty of them ~ the one’s that I am “personally” drawn to are the one’s who have abit of “personality” coming through in them and I definitely think yours has ~ ~ ~ It’s quite ironic really as I feel that I’m quite a “private” person but I like the idea of Blogging in the fact that we can connect, share, form friendships (whatever that consists of) learn about other people and be inspired without being too invasive in other people’s lives and time ~ and for us “creative~types”, we NEED the TIME away in our little sewing/craft~caves to do our thing ~ so I think blogging is great in “showing and telling” our “creative endevours” with others (who are interested) but still have space to do our thing. (And the other thing I find fascinating about the whole thing, is that we can “learn and be inspired by others” without having to leave our house, we have everything at our finger-tips via internet! That’s kinda neat!) ~ ~ ~ It’s funny, because the reason why I starting blogging was probably the “wonderful” idea of having a homebased business ~ that’s not come about, but in actual fact I don’t really mind as I just enjoy the whole “creative” process, sharing and being inspired by others . . . . it’s like a “on~going” creative journey . . . .

    Again WELL DONE YOU, it’s so neat when I see fellow-bloggers do well @ what they love doing!!!!!!

  7. megan says:

    Congratulations Joanna! You were one of the first bloggers I came across and I have loved reading all of your posts ever since! I love reading blogs for inspiration and to connect with other people that have the same interests and passions as I do! I And I think as an ex-teacher, blogging is fantastic for sharing ideas just like teachers do at school with each other. All the best at Craft 2.0, sure you will have a great time 🙂

  8. Pingback: nearly there | little minx's blog

  9. Jo says:

    You will love Craft 2.0, it is such a lovely atmosphere, don’t feel nervous, feel excited! There’s always lots of people but everyone always seems to have time to chat and share their craftiness. Can’t wait to see you!
    I’ve only just started blogging, I started because of people like you, I’ve just been so inspired and encouraged by what people are up to, that I’ve begun blogging and sewing! I guess I’ve started blogging to keep a record of what I’m up to, and also I need to have a blog for school so its been good to practise on a blog I’m really enjoying, rather than one I have to do. Often, blogs are written in an interesting style and I enjoying reading other people’s writing and guess you could say, getting to know them through their blog.
    As for revealing myself, maybe not a picture but certainly plenty of other details about me and my family are starting to come through… stay tuned.
    See you soon. xx

  10. Hey Jo, So exciting to be at Craft 2.0. You will have a blast I know and your work will go down a treat.
    I was addicted to reading art / craft / and design blogs from the moment I found them. My creativity had been dormant for a while but seeing all of the wonderful images and reading how others explored their creativity was so wonderful.
    I started a blog to share what I do – my only wish is that I could be a more regular blogger but I do what I can. I don’t know how much I reveal myself – probably not that much but I do go there at times. I am not sure why I have kept away from the rest of my life – there is probably no real reason other than at first I kept them separate and that is how it has stayed.
    There is a big world of exciting things out there and blogs can bridge the miles. Also, its been great to ‘meet’ and make friends with other like minded people.
    Enjoy this weekend!
    Sarah x

  11. Lovely World says:

    Congratulations on all this! Blogging? Why? Sharing, learning, feedback, connection, inspiration, storytelling, creative work, meditation, community. I guess that about sums it all up! xo

Leave a Reply

