My Creative Space Part 2

Quite some time ago now I blogged that I was finally doing up my Creative Space/Computer Lab/Sewing Room/Office. The room started out looking like this, cluttered, stuffed, and everyone’s drop off for the “I don’t know where it goes” pile…

I tend to always want to do “just a couple more things..”, which means I often don’t feel something is finished, but rather in a state of Nearly There. With this room most of it is done, and it’s time to share it and stop worrying that I still want to do another coat of paint on the door and window frame.

I painted from top to toe in a soft, warm, off-white/yellow (that basically looks white) Dulux Mt Aspiring Half, and painted the ceiling and window ledges a nice crisp white. Originally the window frame had been stripped back to wood and varnished, a strange choice given it’s the only room in the house with a wooden sill, and the darkest room as well. The blind that was there I re-hung above the window frame to help give the room a feeling a height. The desk is made from 4 workman saw-horses with two secondhand doors placed across them, and the computer and sewing machine have been swapped over so that I now have lots of natural light on my sewing.

For storage I moved the shelf system that holds my fabrics to behind the door, with a clothes rack for bags, and a suitcase for more fabrics below. Computer bits and bobs have been organised into pottery containers and woven bags. I bought a stool at the op shop for $5, cleaned it up with a bit of steel wool, and re-covered it. From the same op-shop I found a vintage suitcase to store fabrics in, and this one turned out to be free so even better. Simon kindly built shelves into the spaces next to the old fireplace, so now we have storage and it’s all nicely hidden behind white curtaining (a very cost-effective answer to not being able to afford built-in storage. Finally a doorstop made from some vintage fabric, and I think I’ll call the room done.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Creative Space Part 2

  1. Meg says:

    Looks lovely!

  2. Kathryn Bergman says:

    Looks fantastic! I must say I have fireplace envy, it is gorgeous. And it was lovely to see a photo of my old friend as I remember her xxx

    • Joanna says:

      Thanks – the fireplace doesn’t go, but sure looks pretty (and I’m completely in love with that photo – next I’ll put out the one of you and I in the Acorn Tree out front) x

  3. Sarah says:

    It all looks awesome and very well organised Joanna! Love it. It’s so nice when you can find everything quickly. Now to train everyone out of dumping stuff in your room!

  4. Marine says:

    Looks very nice! I love the doorstop – might make one for my home one day when I am organised!

  5. Jill says:

    It’s lovely and far more organized than my work space. My workspace is such an unorganized mess that I can’t even work in it right now! I need a few days off from school to clean and organize. Since I just spent my last week off in Hawaii relaxing, I’ll have to wait a bit for more time off!

  6. Lovely World says:

    I love the simple, clean look you have gotten here. A place of rest, truly. Often, my work room is so messy with stacks of things all about. I should make a sweep through, inspired by you lovely room. XO

  7. Joanna says:

    Thank you so much (secretly, it’s a mission to keep it looking like this). I wanted clean lines, the room is fairly small and clutters easily, and clutter frustrates me if it hangs around x

Leave a Reply

