Oh Christchurch

12.51pm, right in the middle of the lunch hour, 3 miles below the city, only 10 km away from the CBD, magnitude 6.3. This has been horrifying to witness, TV coverage has been 24 hours, and you just feel like you are living in a daze watching the devastation and trying to get your head around how these people would cope with this. It has been the deadliest New Zealand natural disaster in 80 years and a National State of Emergency has been called, something that has never happened before for a natural disaster. Everyone knows people who live there, everyone feels close to this, everyone wants to help. The Emergency Services have been truly incredible, as a country we are so proud of how well everything has been handled.

 

The Prince of Wales sent a beautifully worded message to New Zealand “I was truly saddened to learn of the horrendous loss of life and damage that another earthquake has brought to the people of Christchurch. I join The Queen and The Prince of Wales in sending my deepest condolences and sympathy to those affected by this tragedy. I do so admire the bravery and commitment of all Cantabrians, particularly all those who, at this time, are working so hard to save the lives of others. It is particularly cruel that your famed resolve and strength are being tested yet again.”

If you would like to help the only way to really do so at this point is to donate money, this can be done at the Red Cross. For extra local news the Television New Zealand website has been a good source. Christchurch, our hearts are with you.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oh Christchurch

  1. Jessica says:

    Omg… This is just too sad – we’ve been watching it all too – all so close after our floods in qld & nsw it’s such a harrowing time..

    Thoughts and prayers always…

  2. Rose says:

    That dust cloud you can see in the first picture did make the city feel like a war zone. The second to last picture you’ve got is not long before my house, I had to navigate all those cracks on my way home. Once I got here, I realised my car I had abandoned in town really wouldn’t have been much use. Though I think at that point in the road I had crossed to the other side of the median barrier. I have to say, I really don’t like being part of the news anymore.

  3. Joanna says:

    I just can’t imagine Rose – I can completely understand your not wanting to be part of the news anymore, it’s just awful. So worried about you and others we know in Christchurch. I think the weirdest thing is that we had 24 hour coverage when there was no power to your city, so what we have seen is so much more than the people who have had to live through this. Thoughts and love x

  4. Jill says:

    Oh JoAnna, I’m so sorry to see this! How devastating! My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone effected by this disaster!

  5. Lovely World says:

    I have not been watching any coverage of the earthquake, only radio reports. Your photos are the first I have seen of the devastation. How frightening. I am keeping the people of Christ Church in my thoughts and hope for a swift recovery. Be safe.

  6. Joanna says:

    Thank you so much for your lovely words, it feels like it’s next door x

Leave a Reply

