Making while Busy

In the lead up to Christmas there was so much going on that it felt like a few things got missed out on the blog, so I thought I would share them now. To add to the huge To Do list of the holiday season I decided to make the kids some summer clothes. I don’t often make clothes as I don’t own an over-locker, and don’t really like the zig-zagged seam look. Reuben seems to grow at a rate that our wallets have trouble keeping up with however, so I decided it was time to make some shorts rather than buying.

I made him two pairs of shorts, the plaid ones below and some in a beige drill, and then made Mia two pairs of capri pants in a blue check and the same beige drill. I made Mia two hats as well, the first one not so perfect, but the second one came out well. She is certainly a lot better at wearing her hat when you can give her a choice. I was really pleased with the end results, and the kids seem to like them, though you have to tell Mia hers are shorts not trousers or she won’t wear them on hot days.

When I got back from my holiday there was a little package awaiting me from Megan at Mousehouse – I just love these little felt gingerbread houses she made, and can’t tell you how thrilled I was to have one of my own. It came with a beautiful card of her girls she had taken and printed through Snapfish (my new favourite obsession). Thank you Megan, and thanks for the friendship over the year x

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Making while Busy

  1. megan says:

    Snapfish is so my new obsession too, what a fab website!
    The shorts and hat look great clever you! I’m thinking about trying to find a second hand overlocker for making clothes this year. My friend also made some awesome hooded towels/poncho’s using her overlocker so am thinking one would be very cool to have. just have to learn how to actually use one though as last time was high school which was a disaster from what i remember! i have put a bucket hat on my crafty project list for the year, did it take you long to make?
    megan x

    • Joanna says:

      I had looked at Snapfish before but after seeing your book have now made one too (30% off yay). As a hint, Bernina has a sale twice a year and they have an overlocker that drops down to about $800, which seems a lot but would be well worth the spend compared to a $600 crap one. I know what you’re saying about overlocker disasters, I am utterly afraid of them, but trying to get over it.

      The hat doesn’t take long to make once you’ve got the pattern jigged right, probably about 1/2 plus cutting. This one was about the third attempt, they kept coming out too small… I’ll mail you my pattern x

  2. Jill says:

    I love Mia’s hat. She’s a cutie!
    No wonder you were excited to get the gingerbread house, it’s so cute!

  3. Jo says:

    Lovely photos of your lovely kids Jo – I especially love Mia’s shorts!! After being inspired by you and other wonderfuly crafty blogs I’ve made it my goal to actually start making things, not just admiring others! So I’ve finished my bunting for Lucy’s bedroom and tonight I’ve started handstitching my new sock monkey, kit courtesty of Miss Millie at the Dowse Craft 2.0. Hope you are all enjoying the holidays. xx

    • Joanna says:

      That’s awesome Jo! Looking forward to seeing the results! I have bunting on my list too (actually it was on the Xmas list but dropped off), bet it looks great. I am applying for the Craft 2.0 fairs this year so may even finally get a chance to catch up with you again. Happy Holidays to you too, hope you’re having a nice one xx

  4. mum says:

    Lovely Hat fantastic Shorts and the most beautiful children . with love mum

  5. Jo says:

    Ohhh, if you need a place to stay, we have a spare bedroom and it would just be wonderful to catch up after all these years. Offer always there! xx

Leave a Reply

