Oscars Quilt

As happens when there’s lots on, big lists, and loads to do and finish in a short time, something more gets added. Our friends have had a wee baby boy, Oscar. I have ventured out and made my first ever quilt for him, using a tutorial from Cat Taylor. I have to say I really enjoyed it. I don’t think I’ll ever become a serious quilter, too much detail, but this particular pattern was easy to follow and lovely and simple. I added an extra row down and across so that it can also be thrown on the floor for Oscar, and replaced the cotton batting with a vintage wool blanket as it gets a lot colder here than Auckland obviously. The best part was choosing the fabrics, I didn’t want anything too “boyish” and blue, so decided to add lots of lovely greens and grays – but who could go past that robot fabric?

Welcome to the world Oscar x

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oscars Quilt

  1. megan says:

    that is so gorgeous Joanna, I love the fabrics you’ve used. And the idea of using a blanket is great for colder climates! Cat’s tutorial is on my list of things to do next year- I really want to make one for Amelie 🙂

  2. cat says:

    Thanks for the mention – your quilt is beautiful. I love your choice of fabrics. I have made a few for friends with new babies. You’re right, it is lovely and simple !

  3. monkeemoomoo says:

    What a beautiful quilt. I love this combination of fabrics. Lucky boy!

    Thanks to the link for the quilt, I have never made one before but Santa has a cutting mat under the tree for me (thanks Santa) so next year will be the year that I attempt my first quilt:)

    • Joanna says:

      Fantastic – it’s a great tutorial, very easy to follow and lovely and simple. A great place for you to start your quilting! It was really quite fun, and lovely to see the fabrics come together as well. I look forward to seeing your first one x

  4. Jill says:

    The quilt is very nice. What a nice gift for the baby!

  5. Lovely World says:

    Hi Joanna. This came out beautifully. I know what you mean about the labor intensity of quilts. I, too, love to make them, but not too often. Your needlecase/pin cushion combos are also quite sweet!

  6. Pingback: Reuben’s Quilt | little minx

Leave a Reply

