Rabbits & Full Circles

When I first started to sew again, after many years of not, my first thought was to make childrens clothing and real homemade soft toys, like the ones I grew up with. I made a dress for Mia and I think that’s about as far as I got – think I’ll leave kids clothing to Imba and Cotton Kiwi. I made a rabbit for Mia, which I rather liked doing and went rather well, and have made many of these rabbits for family members since. Then I made a bag, and I really really liked making bags, so that’s pretty much the way I continued.
I decided the other day to make a few more rabbits for my shop for Christmas, there has been the occasional inquiry about them, and I had a vague notion that I liked making them. Spotlight the word “vague” here, blooming heck and gosh-darnit have been said on repeat from my sewing room, along with “ah, that’s why I don’t make these things anymore”. The first one I made I put the head on backwards and it was all really downhill from there. The end result I am pleased with, but I think I’m too lazy to really work for hours on one project. So, I make bags ok, and remind me when I consider rabbits again about full circles.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rabbits & Full Circles

  1. Marion says:

    Please can I get in before anyone else and buy the rabbit with the stripey body!

  2. megan says:

    a lot of work but so gorgeous! amelie just loves hers.
    I made a christmas stocking the other night and was doing it a bit late in the evening and ended up sewing the lining and the outer round the wrong way so had to unpick and do that again. reminds me not to sew late at night!
    have a great weekend Joanna 🙂

  3. Joanna says:

    oh that’s funny – always the first sign to walk away isn’t it, like when needles break and you unpick more than you sew x

  4. Jill says:

    I love the bags and pouches you make. I use my Little Minx made pencil case for my beloved zentangling pens. I also think your rabbits are beautiful! My daughter loves the one you sent! Her name is Love Dovey and she holds a treasured spot on the bed. So I don’t think you can give up on rabbits they are too well loved by your recipients.

  5. Joanna says:

    thank you Jill, that is so sweet x Glad she still loves the rabbit – and that’s the best name yet! Mia called hers Jay Jake, not sure why …

  6. Marine says:

    The rabbits are beautiful, but I am the same – I do like to sew easy peasy quick projects! I am now hooked on making aprons for the family for Christmas and also enjoy making cushions for bedrooms / lounge rooms. I would love to make bags and rabbits, maybe one day when I have more patience!

  7. Joanna says:

    Hi Marine – I don’t find aprons easy, maybe what we find simple is all relative to outlook! The family will love their gifts, handmade is just the very best. Thank you for visiting my blog x

  8. What awesome little rabbits they are Joanna ~ I am very tempted to buy one myself 🙂

  9. Jo says:

    Those have got to be the happiest rabbits I have seen in a very long time! Went to your shop to have a look, but couldn’t find them! Have they already been adopted out to new homes or are you still to put them up for adoption?

  10. Pingback: a new rabbit |

Leave a Reply

