Numbers of Significance

This is post number 100. This seems like a number of significance to me. I started this blog over a year ago to talk about what I was creating, but it has become so much more than that.  Sometimes I actually Think Blog, and approach life in such a way as how I will present it on little minx. I love it, I really do love it. I do it completely for myself, because I like to, but could never have imagined the joy it would bring me in so many different ways and so many different levels. I have met people, connected with people, learned to pull back my mistrust of computer-born friendships, felt like sharing, definitely received, and most importantly, felt part of something so much bigger in the craft/blog/creative community. So, it’s time for a change in look, and a thank you to all who pop by, and here is my thanks – my first giveaway.

Inspired by my complete love of very simple flowers, somehow Forget-Me-Nots always end up top of my list and they are currently everywhere. I did an embroidery on vintage linen and made that into a needle book with a sweet smoky pink flower fabric inside and a light gray felt. Next a pencil case from one of my very favourite alltime fabrics, a piece that was so very small, and has only made two things – this pencil case and my first ever Secret Keeper that I ended up giving to my Mum for her love and support at my first ever serious craft show, A Craft Affair. And finally one of my Felt brooches, embroidery on Felt and vintage buttons.

So to everyone who visits, thank you, thank you. Please, leave a comment, tell me what your favourite flower is, I would love to hear from you. I will draw this in a week (Friday November 5th).

Minx Giveaway 1

Minx Giveaway 3

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Handmade Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Numbers of Significance

  1. Meg in NZ says:

    Oh they’re my mum’s favourite flowers too, forget me nots. Dad thinks they’re weeds but she loves them. My favourite are tulips, so pretty.

  2. megan says:

    what lovely treats! hard to pick but I would have to say my favourite flower is daphne. have a lovely weekend Joanna 🙂

  3. Melanie says:

    Those are gorgeous. I have 2 favorite flowers that look beautiful together, sunflowers and irises, and both are van Gogh paintings too.

  4. Johanna says:

    Fav flower….ooo that is tough. I am going through a real jasmine phase at the moment. I like anything that looks a bit ‘wild and uncultured’

    xx

  5. Oh Joanna those goodies are divine! I can’t tell you how much I love them, particularly the little needle book. I giggled at the term ‘think blog’ too. I am constantly doing that. And ‘think facebook’ too. LOL. I love forget me nots too. And daisys are big favourites for their freshness and simplicity. My favourite flowers though are tulips, white ones in a glass vase. Congratulations on your 100th post. I’m glad you are here in blogland! x

  6. Lisa says:

    such a pretty embroidery! My favorite flowers are daisys, always happy, simple and they last forever!

    lisadpope@yahoo. com

  7. Just love the embroidery !!! Perfect little gifts for that special someone!

  8. Jane says:

    Gosh they are just lovely, how clever of you! I always think I’d like to do something like this but run out of time…..! Sigh. Favourite flower, hmm too many to choose really, but I think Sunflowers can cheer even the saddest person! Their big yellow heads just make you smile! 🙂

  9. celia says:

    Beautiful embroidery, I like the picture of the embroidered flower next to the real one, so nicely done!
    Favorite flowers… I like dahlias for the way they look and love the scent of roses.

  10. Marine Swart says:

    I live in Dunedin too!!! Found your blog via tinyhappy. My favourite flower is a gerbera – orange or red.

  11. Jill says:

    Congratulations on 100 posts! I enjoy reading your blog and seeing the beautiful things you make. Your photos are always gorgeous.
    My favorite flower is a black-eyed Susan for sentimental reasons from childhood.

  12. Jo says:

    Well done – I always feel inspired when I read your blog, I end up going from your blog to another, to another, to another and suddenly its late at night and way past my bedtime. I admire your skills and how you’ve followed your passion. Favourite flower, hmm, too many, I guess daphne for the scent, white rosebuds and my cherry blossom just as it has bloomed, white with the slightest hint of pink – and then the wind arrives … Congratulations Jo.

  13. Well done Joanna. I love your work! My favourite flowers are peonies.. for the brief time they are in season…. and their expense but they are devine..

  14. Congratulations on your 100th post! I do love Forget Me Knots … their bright happy tiny smiling faces! But my absolute favourite I would have to say are those beautiful vibrant orange Calla lillies. I love their elegant curves ….

  15. Gaye Sutton says:

    Hi JOanna,
    I do admire your work…you are a creative soul working from the heart. Congratulations on reaching 100. I love forget me nots for their dear little selves and for what they represent like people like you dropping back into my life after long long times. xxx

  16. Pingback: My Creative Space (Part 1) | little minx's blog

  17. kim says:

    oh my goodness everything is stunning! i love love it all! /drools…

  18. Ooooh, I love your things… Ahh forget-me-nots are so sweet and beautiful in their simplicity.
    I just realised I just past the 100 post mark (just did number 101), and didn’t even notice…. that makes me a little sad.
    I like wildflowers, I’m not sure what type, but just the mix of lovely colours and styles you see in the wild.
    Emma x

  19. Kathryn Bergman says:

    I do love your blog, it is beautifully written. You are so talented, I love your work and the stories behind the things you make. I remember forget-me-nots from my childhood, along with the beautiful smells of Jasmine and Daphne. Funny how these things are repeated, my daughter currently has a small vase of forget-me-nots and jasmine on her dressing table. Much love xxx

  20. Lovely World says:

    Hello there! Thank you for stopping by my blog. And happy 100th post. My favorite flowers are peonies. They are so fleeting in the Spring, and I await them all year. Thanks for the chance in your give-away.

  21. Barb Snook says:

    Happy 100th post Your blog is wonderful and I love the beautiful craft items. My favourite flowers are daffodils. I love forget-me-nots too, especially what you’ve done with them XX

Leave a Reply

