Handmade High-Horse

While trying to make as much as possible by hand for Mia’s birthday and party I said to a friend “I’m on my handmade high-horse”. It was only later when looking back over those two days that one thing struck me, how much everyone else involved had contributed in a handmade way too. Two separate families had bought bunches of flowers, held squashed in a wee fist, picked from their own gardens. One bunch was mainly Dandelions, as the little girl kept going outside and coming back with more (okay, flowers aren’t handmade, but they have a lovely simplicity especially when it’s Forget-Me-Nots, Roses, and Dandelions). The dresser is a sea of handmade birthday cards with the most beautiful pictures, all drawn for Mia.

Gift wise, I did up the old school desk for her, re-covered a stool, and made her a new pencil case to go inside it. Her Nana made her a new dancing skirt for dressing up (though this was worn to kindy the next day). Miriam from Booci made her a felt-ball bracelet, Sarah from Cotton Kiwi made her a hibiscus head band, and Nik from Gotta Have  gave her a little handmade blue bow clip with a pink button in the middle. I obviously know some wonderful people, lucky me.

The hit of the party would have to be the Flower-Filled Skirt I bought from Cotton Kiwi, how gorgeous is this? It even has a little bell in it, and she dings along as she moves around the house. Mia LOVES it, understandably.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Handmade High-Horse

  1. megan says:

    lovely pressies! i just bought one of sarah’s skirts from the Felt Aid shop for amelie for christmas. hope you are having a good week 🙂

  2. Sarah Bird says:

    Thanks hon. So lovely to see her wearing it and enjoying it! Love all those other handmade goodies. It makes it all so special when things are handmade. Kids really appreciate them when they know they are made just for them. Love the dandelions in the vase and the felt ball bracelet. So cute! And I’m totally in love with that button bow! Lucky girl!

    • Joanna says:

      Wasn’t she just – and she got very admiring looks at kindy when she wore her new hair band. I agree, I think kids really get it when things are mad especially for them x

  3. Jill says:

    What wonderful gifts! I love the flower skirts Sarah makes, I wish my daughter would wear one, but she doesn’t like “puffy” skirts or dresses. She loves a simple cotton dress with leggings underneath. Maybe someday she’ll like full puffy skirts!
    I love handmade things and think it’s a complement to receive something handmade from a friend or family member. I know a lot of people who don’t get the splendor of a homemade gift. It’s nice to see your friends and family do! Lucky you and lucky Mia!

    • Joanna says:

      I completely agree – I was quite blown away with all the lovely thoughts. When you make something for someone you are thinking of them, wondering what they’ll think, so nice x

  4. Nik says:

    What delicious presents for a delicious girlie (and Mummy)!!! x

  5. Hi – I have just discivered your beautiful blog – I love the way you write and thank you for sharing your thoughts and all your beautiful handmade items! A friend and I are trying very hard to get back to that “handmade” era when everything was so unique and beautiful.

  6. Download magazines daily
    I am full of admiration and positive feelings. Very nice, clean and pleasant. All the best for the author.

Leave a Reply

