Sunday, Sunday

Today has been a quiet day. It has been raining most of the day, but not in that horrid way, rather in that quiet and gentle kind of way. The clouds lay across the hills lazily, and I woke up to a slight fog which made me smile. The mood suits me, because I am feeling rather quiet today too. Maybe its because that tooth is irking me, or because I’m simply tired. Anyway, much pottering was done. We enjoyed the first piece of baking from the beautiful and shiny new oven, a caramel & oat slice. Simon, Reuben & Max headed over the hill to Long Beach and came back with two bags of pine cones for the fire. Mia played with the cars that Reuben has recently passed on to her, and I sat at my sewing machine. Oscar sat at the window and remembered that we put apple in the tree in winter for the large flock of Wax-Eyes that seem to remember this fact every year (clearly beating the cat in cleverness).

I was not feeling too much like making yet another bag, and wanted to make something soothing, so made these Secret Keepers using some zips I found at the op-shop the other day. The zips are really quite small, just 10cm. I just love the colours and the little dangly metal pulls. I made Mia a slightly larger one for her hair clips and ties that seem to wander around her room and the house. The pattern on hers is machine embroidered which I would normally pass over, but it is rather lovely, and fits with my drive to re-use things that have been previously loved for other purposes. Hoping your Sunday was soothing too.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sunday, Sunday

  1. What AWESOME photos you’ve taken 🙂 – and just love those little purses you’ve made!!!

  2. Beautiful photos! Love the little bags and the name you have given them. How cute.

  3. megan says:

    I showed my hubby these beautiful photo’s- you have a real talent for photography (and writing and craft clever you!). the wax eye photo is stunning.
    sounds like a blissful sunday 🙂

    • Joanna says:

      Thank you so much – though I will admit to taking a fair amount of photo’s of the Wax Eyes to get that one. They do move rather fast, he he

  4. Stacey says:

    Those purses are so beautiful.
    I love the roses one.

  5. Jill says:

    The secret keepers are so cute! What a great idea! You do take such beautiful photos! It makes me feel like I’m there with you. I hope you have a great week.

  6. Nik says:

    Loving the secret keepers and I so hear you with not wanting to make another item of one that you keep repeating time and time again! x

Leave a Reply

