A Kindy Bag for Mia

I started the embroidery for a kindy bag for Mia quite some time ago on some chocolate brown wool I found in an op shop. Our front garden has quite a lot of Thyme and Chives, which I just love when they are in flower, so this became the inspiration for the design.

Last night I finally completed her bag. Originally I was going to make her a backpack, which may have been what put me off and make me add it to The List, as it seemed a little difficult in concept. I’m glad it took a while to get to though because she has now been going to kindy for a couple of months which has given me time to rethink the bag and realise that a plain ole tote is a better idea.ย  I pretty much followed the pattern for the one I made myself, just with shorter and thicker straps. I had a gorgeous old 1960’s tablecloth in a heavy pink weave with gray and white spots, that was extremely hard to actually cut in to as it is so beautiful, and used this for the top half. The brown wool became the bottom and the straps which will make it nice and sturdy, and not too likely to soil quickly.ย  The inside has a light peppermint green cotton with fairies on it, a little like Cicily M. Barker’s Flower Fairies. I have hung it on her door for when she gets home today, I’m quite excited about her reaction to getting it. The kids just love it when I actually make something for them. And yes, I am also sewing for A Craft Affair,it just didn’t seem fair to put off her bag any longer.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Kindy Bag for Mia

  1. Steph says:

    What a beautiful litle bag! Your embroidery is stunning on that wool. I bet she absolutely adores it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Jill says:

    The bag turned out great! It’s true that our kids enjoy the things we make for them. They get how much time and love goes into it! Of course sometimes my daughter thinks I’m more talented with a sewing machine than I really am. She thinks I can just whip up anything that she thinks of.

  3. Just love the delicate flower design Joanna – I’m starting to get into Embroidery also and just loving it!!!!!

Leave a Reply

