Avoidance techniques

I am going to Christchurch in 5 weeks to be a part of A Craft Affair, which is very exciting indeed. It will be my first ever serious craft fair so I am very excited, and slightly nervous, about the whole thing. So, I need to get sewing, and I mean really sewing. The last two Fairs have had 3000 visitors through the doors, just slightly more than the 150 or so at the Port Chalmers Markets… I’m not even sure how much I need to think about making but I am sure that it is likely to be a daunting amount.

So, what have I achieved today? I think, realistically, I have achieved a whole new level in procrastination. I may even have invented some new avoidance techniques, who knows. I have cut Reubens hair, cut Mia’s hair, tidied up, put the washing away, scrubbed the kitchen windowsill where it was looking a bit worse for wear, weeded the front garden, tried to change the wiper blade on the back window of the car (unsuccessfully),ย  done the dishes (twice), played with the dog, re-potted a succulent that has been sitting on the kitchen windowsill for a year (clearly it was pressing), embroidered a keyring for the new car, and blogged.ย  Nice work I would say!

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Avoidance techniques

  1. You are the procrastination queen! :o) I bet your house and garden look gorgeous though! Good luck with all your sewing.

  2. Steph says:

    Oh I know about procrastination!!! Even the most disgusting jobs like washing out the wheelie bin look appealing when there is a deadline looming. Am in exactly the same place at the moment with my first big market under two weeks away. Let’s be strong together. Sending you a big dose of motivation for tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I am so the same! I sat there last night looking at my “A Craft Affair To Do List” and was still looking at it by the end of the night……. I didn’t actually do anything else (ie my avoidance technique was to do ‘Nothing’).

    I am used to much smaller markets as well and really have no idea where to start…..
    Looking forward to meeting you in CHC!

    Sx

  4. Jill says:

    Your procrastination produced lots of good results. I know you’ll create some gorgeous items for the Craft Afair. When you’re in the right mindset the craftiness & creativeness will just flow. Then you’ll be really productive. I can’t wait to see what you make.

  5. Hello! I found you on a NZ craft blog list which is COOL! I’m a wellingtonian and love finding other NZ bloggers who understand that the rain is just not stopping right now! I really like your blog and hope you sell heaps at the markets! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

