It rained and it rained and it rained

It is raining. It is raining and raining and raining. And on top of that, raining. For days now. I think it stopped today for about 15 minutes. Then it started to rain. It’s times like this I feel grateful for living on a hill as I watch the water pour down towards the flat. There are floods and slips everywhere and driving is an absolute hazard (especially in a loaned car from the panel beaters that I’m not used to). I have to say one thing about rain, it softens all of the colours into muted versions of themselves, and it brings out that amazing concrete coloured gray that I love so much.

I spent a bit of time today thinking about when I first started this blog, it was pretty much in a weather patch like the one we are currently experiencing. I love watching the rain drops move down the window. I also spent some time today finishing off my apron for my part in the Great Apron Swap 2010, thanks to Red Gingham. My partner Jill lives in the United States, the kids get so excited at the thought of that. Mia has now decided that she is going to catch a plane to see Jill. This is my first ever apron, and I’m really rather pleased at the end result. I can’t show it yet as I want Jill to see it first, but there’s a snippet of the fabric below.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It rained and it rained and it rained

  1. Jill says:

    If you come to the US you’re welcome at my house anytime. Of course I’d love to visit New Zealand even if it’s raining incessantly right now. It’s so much fun to swap internationally and learn about a new place in the world!

    • Joanna says:

      I agree – and as I said the kids find the idea really magical. You’re always welcome at my house too! P.S mailed your parcel yesterday, hope you like it

  2. Hi Joanna. Lovely to see your fabric for the apron swap. How lovely that it’s going to the US. Really hard reading about them going into Summer now just as we go into a horrible wet winter but I suppose they’ve already had their yucky weather! Great to see your work on the Felt front page the other day after having read about you making the little pouches!

    • Joanna says:

      Thanks so much! And I can’t wait to post the actual apron once she has it. I was thinking abut your beautiful wee corduroy dress this morning, just gorgeous! Have a great weekend x

Leave a Reply

