Can’t Let You Down

It’s been a rather weird few days, hectic and strange and thought provoking. There’s been lots going on, it’s rather hard to figure out what to blog about, it all feels like lots of little bits. There is one large bit though – Simon had a car accident on Saturday that, all things considered,  potentially could have been terrible. As he was driving home from Reuben’s soccer game the bonnet of the car suddenly flew up, smacking into the windscreen and then wrapping itself up over the roof and hitting the sunroof. He was travelling at 80 kilometres on a part of road on the way to our home that has no area for stopping, so slowed down and drove, looking through the small amount of windscreen that wasn’t covered in bonnet, till he could turn off. The bonnet was bent backwards from hitting the roof, the windscreen is cracked across in many places, the sunroof no longer closes as it was open when hit, and the front side panels of the car are warped from the shear force of the bonnet being wrenched up at 80km. Simon had with him Reuben, Mia, and Max – that car contained my entire life.

Last night we watched Julie & Julia, and it has me thinking about love, passion, and partnership. Julia Child was clearly a very passionate person with such a lust for life and what she was doing. What a way to live! The thing that struck me most about the film and the story was her love for Paul Child and his love for her. The amazing warm & loving support and understanding they seemed to have for each other, the way they existed so equally side by side. In my heart, when I heard that there had been an accident, I actually heard something so much worse, heard the loss of everything in my life that is about warmth, love, and support. I have spent most of today mulling it over in my head, reading quotes & poems, and listening to music in an attempt to make some sense of it. I stopped here, at this song by Hollie Smith.

“If you say come here, I will come

If you say stop I will stand still

If you ask me how, I’ll tell you why

so you understand, to make you proud

If you say it’s fine, it’s fine with me

I’ll do my best to make it fly

And if you say no I will agree

And soon find out you were right all along.

With me so long, you’ve seen it all

Too close for comfort, s0metimes,

But I can’t live without you.

I will try to abide

I know I can’t let you down”

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Can’t Let You Down

  1. How awful Joanna. But how wonderful that your other half was so quick thinking and calm to be able to stop the car safely with all your babies on board. These moments do make you think an awful lot but try not to dwell on it too much. Just be thankful that the worst didn’t happen and move on. I hope your week gets an awful lot better from here on in. Sarah x

    • Joanna says:

      Thanks Sarah – writing the blog kinda moved it on for me (yay blogs)… except now I am running around dealing with insurance companies and panel beaters grrr! x

  2. Megan says:

    Hi! I enjoyed your post and am glad everyone is okay. I felt the need to comment as my boys are called Max (5) and Reuben (4) too!

  3. Jill says:

    Scary! I’m glad everyone was alright. It’s amazing how things like this can put it all in perspective and make you realize what the most important things in life are! You are fortunate to have so many great loves in your life so hug them all today.

    • Joanna says:

      Thanks – I will! I cryed quite a lot after I wrote the blog, don’t think I realised how much it had touched me till I tried to put it in words.

  4. Megan says:

    Hello. I tried to comment yesterday but it didn’t work for some reason? I enjoyed your thought provoking post. My boys are Max and Reuben!

  5. Megan says:

    thanks :o) I was confused about the comment thing as I use blogger.

  6. megan says:

    Hi Joanna, so glad that your family is alright after that scary incident. that must have been awful beyond words when you heard there had been an accident. thinking of you and hope your week is going well (except for the dealing with insurance companies bit!

Leave a Reply

