Copying & Practising

My latest obsession is making embroidered felt brooches, I just love it. When the embroidery is going right and falls into place it is such a feeling of excitement and achievement. I am still trying to “loosen” my approach to stitching, and thought I  would do a bit of a practice run of brooches, do a few different designs at once. The first thing I did was actually copy a brooch design belonging to Tiny Happy (www.tinyhappy.typepad.com), just to get some practice on a new type of stitch that I then used on the following pieces. Having said that I think I have spent more time in the past few days unpicking stitches than creating them!

I am pretty happy with the results, and two of them have gone to new homes with one being Marion’s Birthday gift (bottom left). The heart one went to Mia – a heart because I Love You, a flower because you’re beautiful, and two kisses just for you. She especially loves hers, it’s so wonderful how in awe children can be of something you have made – “is it for Mia? Wow”.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Copying & Practising

  1. megan says:

    hi joanna, your brooches are gorgeous. I love the one for Mia with the flowers and kisses. I know what you mean about kids thinking it’s so neat when you make something- probably half the reason I got into crafting was so my girls will hopefully think I’m super clever!! so easy to impress them isn’t it! Amelie loves her rabbit- I put a pic of her cuddling it on my latest blog post 🙂

  2. Joanna says:

    oh yay Megan, I’m so pleased – and thanks for the comments on the brooches. It’s nice to have a wee fan at home isn’t it, Joanna x

  3. They are lovely Joanna! Especially those daisy ones. Your photographs and blog are stunning. I have bookmarked you so I can come back for a longer visit soon.

  4. Joanna says:

    Thanks so much Sarah – I have done the same for you… look forward to catching up x

Leave a Reply

