Fit to Bursting

Yesterday I packed everyone in the car and drove them all to a surprise spot for a picnic. Reuben asked a million questions “is it Sawyers Bay?” “is it Purakanaui?” “are we going to the Orokonui Ecosantuary?”. No. We went to a piece of private land that overlooks Otago Harbour,  just 10 minutes drive up the hill from our home. We inadvertently found this spot last November when we stopped after our wedding ceremony to have a few photo’s taken, rounded over a small hill and found ourselves here.

It takes your breath away. The kids just ran and ran, exploring stone wall fences, trees, and steep inclines. I constantly feel such gratitude for living in New Zealand, and for how beautiful, unique, and spiritual it is. Yesterday, as we sat looking out, eating muffins, eggs, and apples,  I felt my heart just swell at the beauty of it,  fit to bursting.

About little minx

It's a rainy day and in an attempt to slow down and appreciate the little things I have started a blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fit to Bursting

  1. Wendy Sice says:

    Wow, WOW! What a beautiful spot! My goodness, the colours are so vibrant! you are lucky to have such views so close to home. I must now add New Zealand to my places to visit list. And it goes to the top!
    Wendy x

    • Joanna says:

      Thank you! – and the photo’s are un-doctored.It really did look like that. And yes, we do know how lucky we are.

      I visited your site, really beautiful. I love the front door concept, certainly made me think about how interesting that first impression is.

      Joanna x

  2. megan says:

    absolutely beautiful! what a neat thing to do -a surprise picnic. i have never been further than Christchurch, look forward to going to Dunedin one day! we had a trip booked to travel from Chch in a camper van going south todunedin and also queenstown but then found out i was pregnant with number 1 so had to save out $$. one day a family trip would be neat!

  3. Minkie says:

    Hi!
    I found your blog while looking up my name. 😀 Just thought I would say hello, and tell you how pretty your pictures are.

    xoxoxo
    Minkie

    • Joanna says:

      And hello to you – I looked up your shop, I love your creations! Really beautiful, you are very talented. (big soft spot for Springtime Indiscretions!) Thanks for stopping by x

  4. Joanna says:

    What a lovely story! There is always something, that you will never forget, that changed at that moment when you realised there was someone new on the way, wonderful. And I look forward to showing you 4 around when you do make it here x

Leave a Reply

